The objective of this post is to introduce a project that combines my love of fine wine and my interest in information technology. I am working with the SBA’s Northern California Small Business Development Center to develop and roll out a Winery CRM to supplement the tasting room operations and sales for today’s wineries. The initial rollout is happening right now in Sonoma County California with three wine industry associations. My objectives are threefold:

  1. to increase the percentage of visitors/tasters who become customers (sales)
  2. to learn more about the customers and prospects of the winery: to sell more wines to existing customers more frequently
  3. to personalize the customer experience and to use the customer and prospect networks to develop additional customers

If you have general or specific thoughts on this concept, I would appreciate your comments…  J

